Removing the CE desktop
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Send Topic to a Friend
 Printer Friendly
Author Topic  

ms08233

17 Posts

Posted - 02 Oct 2003 :  17:09:59  Show Profile  Email Poster
The previous thread by this name (on 08/08/2002) was locked, so this is a continuation.

I want to boot up directly to my application, without the CE desktop
or taskbar, and I know how to do that (as discussed in the previous thread). But then I want to be able to push a button on my application that exits the application and brings up the desktop. The previous thread mentioned using CreateProcess to accomplish this, but I've never used it before, so I have some questions:

1) If I start explorer.exe with CreateProcess, and then exit my application, will explorer keep running?

2) If I then restart my application using an icon on the desktop, and exit it again (calling CreateProcess again), will I then have 2 copies of explorer running? If so, how do I prevent that?

3) CreateProcess has a lot of parameters, but it looks like I can set most of them to NULL. I don't need to pass parameters, so can I set lpszCmdLine to NULL? Do I need any of the flags in fdwCreate? Do I have to create a PROCESS_INFORMATION structure and pass it in lppiProcInfo or can that be NULL? Do I have to use CloseHandle on something before my application exits? I guess I'm saying I need some sample code to illustrate this function!

Thanks,
Michael Schwab

ctacke

877 Posts

Posted - 02 Oct 2003 :  17:26:15  Show Profile  Email Poster
#LaunchingExplorer

Launching Explorer Programmatically

1. Yes. It is an entirely separate process and running CreateProcess is no different than if you double-tapped the app.